RAISING RILEY TEAM
Jan Scheideman

Supervisor

 

jscheideman@rileycountyks.gov

 

785-776-4779  ext.7626

Denae Jones

Early Literacy Facilitator

 

dljones@rileycountyks.gov

 

785-776-4779  ext. 7648

Renee Berish

Early Childhood Facilitator

 

rberish@rileycountyks.gov

 

785-776-4779  ext.7610

Beth Mills

Family Engagement Facilitator

emills@rileycountyks.gov

 

785-776-4779  ext. 7641

Theresa Keene

Early Childhood Facilitator

 

tkeene@rileycountyks.gov

 

785-776-4779  ext. 7638

Tasha Young

Clerk

 

tryoung@rileycountyks.gov

 

785-776-4779  ext. 7634

Where We Started - What We Do

 

Raising Riley originated in 1999 from the vision of two great friends of children and supporters of this community: Dr. Russ Frey, a KSU professor, veterinarian, and Riley County Commissioner; and Senator Roger Reitz, a physician and Manhattan City Commissioner. Were it not for their efforts and persistence, Raising Riley would not have come to fruition. Accomplishments are highlighted below. 

 

Raising Riley is funded with Tobacco Settlement Dollars from an Early Childhood Block Grant through the Kansas Children’s Cabinet and Trust Fund.  Our local program goal aligns with the Cabinet’s Blueprint for Early Education to build a strong foundation for children and families in Riley County through shared vision, community collaboration and public-private partnerships 

 

Raising Riley Program components include:

  • Professional Development classes and workshops

  • Child and Program Assessments 

  • Child care scholarships for qualified families

  • Early Literacy Education through facility based story time visits

  • Family Engagement Activities

  • Parent Education classes

  • Collaboration with USD383 Early Learning Programs and Maternal and Child Health Home Visiting

Family & Child Resource Center components include:

  • Maternal and Child Health

    • MCH Newborn Home Visiting

    • Maternal & Infant Program

    • MCH Home Visiting

  • Child Care Licensing

  • Community Play Groups

  • Toy & Book Lending Library

  • Raising Riley 

  • WIC

  • Parents as Teachers

  • Early Childhood Professional Development Opportunities

   

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com